musings on music and life

October 18, 2016

Still on the job search

Filed under: Chemistry Jobs — sankirnam @ 4:09 pm

It has been about 20 months since I got my PhD in chemistry, and I’m still on the search applying for my first job. It’s been a really emotionally draining, tough ride. Before I graduated, I had heard horror stories from others about the chemistry job market and how brutal it is…but there’s nothing like experiencing it firsthand yourself. There are several major hurdles, which I’ll try and document here.

  • Applying online. The major portal for job applications is now online. This is convenient for both job seekers and employers; job seekers can electronically send applications for positions (which normally include a cover letter, resume and/or supplemental information such as a research summary) from the comfort of their home or office. With the internet, employers and recruiters also have a larger talent pool. The process is still time-consuming, however; I would estimate that it takes me on average about 45 minutes to fill out an online application; this includes filling out the information in the online forms (I always end up having to manually do this since the resume parsing never works), making edits to my resume to tailor it for the position, and writing a cover letter. I put in all this work, only to be greeted with:
  • The cone of silence. This is the most frustrating aspect of the job search. You’ll submit your application online, and usually within 1 minute receive an e-mail saying “Thank you for your application, it has been successfully received, and will be reviewed by our team”. This will be followed by….. silence. You won’t hear anything for weeks, or even months on end. I have a list of all the jobs I have applied to, and at least 85% of them have a note saying “Status: No reply”. I would follow up… if I knew who to follow up with! The internet is only so helpful in this regard, and its not always possible to find out who the particular recruiter or hiring manager is for a particular position.
    Case in point: I recently applied to 3 positions in Allergan in August, and still have not heard anything back. The recruiter for the position (as listed on LinkedIn) was unresponsive to my e-mails, and it was only by following up with a friend of a friend in the company that I was informed that yes, they had my application and that it was still under consideration. The funny thing is, these positions are still being listed on job boards and are still accepting applications!
  • The insane saturation of this particular job market. Don’t listen to the politicians – we don’t have a shortage of scientists in this country. We have a massive, massive, glut, and anyone who does any kind of scientific hiring will be able to corroborate this. It’s especially bad at the PhD level – back to my example at Allergan, I was discreetly informed not to get my hopes up since they received 500+ applications for 1 opening in medicinal chemistry. Plus, I did happen to have some nice chats with senior executives at [unnamed pharma companies], and they (somewhat condescendingly) told me to stop wasting my time, because pharma hiring is focused on pedigree; if you don’t have a degree from Harvard/Stanford/MIT/Caltech, etc. your application will be immediately discarded. The irony is that these executives did not have degrees from those schools.

That being said, it seems to me that there’s really only one surefire way to get a job out of school, and that is through campus recruiting. Unfortunately no companies in my area of study (chemistry) came to hire at my university, so that ruled out that approach. The other way is to join a position through a friend’s referral, which works for smaller companies and startups. Applying to big companies is seemingly slower, since the application has to go through several stages – a recruiter (who may or may not know the subject and understand your resume), followed by an interview with the hiring manager (who will be knowledgeable in the domain), and further interviews. I have been told that ‘80% of jobs never get advertised’ and other statistics like that, but those are only relevant for experienced job seekers looking to move laterally; it’s not relevant for fresh graduates looking for their first job. For your first job, you need to play by the company’s rules for applications. Once you get experience and make contacts, then you can get your friends to backdoor you into positions at other companies.

At least, that’s my observation. I don’t know what other avenues there are for gaining employment (I should specify that I mean relevant employment that would utilize my education and background; I could always go and be a cashier at a grocery store, but that would be a massive waste of my education and also the taxpayer money that went into funding that education). If anyone has any ideas, let me know!

The other question that comes up is “so, what about Data Science?”. Yes, that is still on the table; I’m still working with recruiters from Harnham, but nothing has panned out yet. To be honest, I’m not totally thrilled. After doing some soul-searching, I have realized that I don’t necessarily have the mentality to go into “Data Science” or software development. It’s one of those things that I am simultaneously overqualified (I have a PhD, after all) and underqualified (PhD in a irrelevant subject) for. I don’t have years of software development experience or deep knowledge of a lower-level language (e.g. Java, C, C++), or a degree in math, statistics, computer science, or physics (which are considered sexy in this field). I have actually been advised that maybe I should hide my PhD in organic chemistry since it is irrelevant to Data Science. At the same time, I’m glad I took that bootcamp – I can now study the material at my own pace, and the knowledge of programming and computational thinking is becoming increasingly critical today, what with the amount of time we spend interfacing with digital devices in the form of laptops, cellphones, tablets, and other computers.

So….I’m still looking for my first job in chemistry! If anyone has any leads, please do let me know.

I forgot to include this gem as an example to illustrate my point:
I applied to this position at BBraun in Irvine in March – on paper, it is a typical Analytical chemist position, and one that I am reasonably well-suited for. The only weird thing is that they explicitly want “Pharmaceutical industry or a relevant post-doc experience of 3-6 years for PhD”, which doesn’t make much sense (but can be chalked up to “credential inflation” in this over-saturated job market). In any case, I was swiftly rejected by the company, but to my surprise, the position is still up, over 6-7 months later! Stuff like this just really infuriates me. Companies like these waste so much time searching for the perfect “purple unicorn” candidate, and then raise a hue and cry about a “STEM shortage” when they’ve rejected everyone for the most random reasons.jackie-chan-wtf

I know people are curious, so here are the stats:

Jobs applied to: 1465
Interviews: 9

EDIT (10/26/2016): This morning, I was greeted with this e-mail from Merck: “Thank you for your interest in Merck.  We appreciate you taking the time to pursue career opportunities with us.  We have chosen at this time to suspend the search for this position and may reopen the search at a later date”. I applied to this position 2 months ago (August 25, 2016, to be exact), never heard anything back, and then received this notification. Seriously, something is screwy in hiring – has this happened to other people, or is it just me? Also, I honestly think there should be less of a stigma against unemployment – just look at how much time elapses in the job search! The companies are the ones that are slow in getting back to job seekers; in other words, the rate-determining step in the job search is waiting to hear back from companies, which means that individuals should not be held completely responsible for long periods of unemployment if they are applying aggressively.

2ND EDIT (11/16/2016): Yesterday, I got this email from Eli Lilly: “Thank you for your recent inquiry for the Research Scientist-Small Molecule Design and Development-Developability position, requisition #28370BR.

The position in which you originally expressed interest has unfortunately been cancelled and was not filled. Please feel free to review current openings and submit your interest accordingly”. At least this position didn’t leave me hanging for that long – I applied to it on 10/13/2016. I’m just completely nonplussed here…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

